Synopsis

In August 2020, the news of the accident of Swiss polar explorer Konrad Steffen shook the public as well as the scientific community worldwide. Koni, as he was called by his friends, did not return to base camp, the "Swiss Camp", from a routine trip to a measuring station on the Greenland Ice Sheet. It is suspected that he fell into a crevasse covered by fresh snow during bad weather conditions. To this day, there is no trace of him.
Konrad Steffen was a pioneer and well-known for his significant research into the melting polar ice caused by global warming - for over 30 years.

Photographer and filmmaker Corina Gamma had known Koni Steffen for many years and also visited him at the "Swiss Camp" in Greenland. Their shared fascination for archaic snow and ice landscapes bonded them in close friendship.
In her cinema documentary, the director traces the life of Konrad Steffen; long-time colleagues, companions, friends and family, but also the director herself, take a very personal look at Koni's world of thought, his motivation and the perseverance that drove him to the limits and ultimately beyond on his research trips. Tragically, Koni's place of longing has now become his final resting place.

Der Eismann

Documentary film in financing

Director and screenwriter

Corina Gamma

Production

tellfilm

Funding

Swiss Polar Institut

Synopsis

Im August 2020 erschütterte die Nachricht vom Unfall des Schweizer Polarforschers Konrad Steffen die Öffentlichkeit sowie die wissenschaftliche Gemeinde weltweit. Koni, wie er von seinen Freunden genannt wurde, kehrte von einem Routinegang zu einer Messstation auf dem grönländischen Eisschild nicht wieder zum Basislager, dem „Swiss Camp“, zurück. Man vermutet, dass er bei schlechten Wetterbedingungen in eine von Neuschnee bedeckte Gletscherspalte fiel. Bis heute fehlt von ihm jede Spur.
Konrad Steffen war ein Pionier und bekannt für die massgebliche Erforschung des schmelzenden Polareises durch die Erderwärmung – und das seit über 30 Jahren.

Die Fotografin und Filmemacherin Corina Gamma kannte Koni Steffen seit vielen Jahren und besuchte ihn auch im „Swiss Camp“ in Grönland. Ihre gemeinsame Faszination für archaische Schnee- und Eislandschaften verband sie in enger Freundschaft.
Mit ihrem Kinodokumentarfilm zeichnet die Regisseurin das Leben von Konrad Steffen nach; langjährige Kollegen, Wegbegleiter, Freunde und Familie, aber auch die Regisseurin selbst werfen dabei einen sehr persönlichen Blick auf Konis Gedankenwelt, seine Motivation und die Ausdauer, die ihn bei seinen Forschungsreisen bis an die Grenzen und schliesslich darüber hinaus getrieben hat. Auf tragische Weise wurde Konis Sehnsuchtsort nun zu seiner letzten Ruhestätte.

Der Eismann

Dokumentarfilm in Finanzierung

Buch und Regie

Corina Gamma

Produktion

tellfilm

Förderung

Swiss Polar Institut